Golden Caps Presented

At half time during the Wales v Ukraine FIFA Women's World Cup qualifier at Llanelli, FAW President, Trefor Lloyd Hughes presented two Golden Caps.

These caps are awarded to players - male or female - who, at the end of their career, have played more than 50 times for the national side.

At the match with the Ukraine, two midfielders were honoured - Katie Sherwood and Jayne Ludlow. They are the second and third players to actually receive their final caps - Kathryn Morgan having been the first.

Katie Sherwood won 50 caps between 2001-2012 in a career with Cardiff City Ladies, Mid-Tennessee University and Bristol Academy.

Jayne Ludlow was captain of the Wales team on many occasions between 1996-2012, eventually winning 61 caps with Barry Town, Millwall, Southampton and Arsenal.

The caps have the players' name on them, together with the number of appearances and dates between which the matches were played.

Many of the current squad have passed the 50 mark, but the presentation does not take place until they have ended their international career.

Still to receive their Gold Caps are Cheryl Foster and Emma Jones. The FAW hopes that they will be presented at matches in the near future.

Leading Women's Cap Holders:

1. Michelle Green - 89*
2. Jessica Fishlock - 77*
3. Cheryl Foster - 63
4. Emma Jones - 63
5. Jayne Ludlow - 61
6. Loren Dykes - 59*
7. Nicky Davies - 58*
8. Gwennan Harries - 58*
9. Helen Lander / Ward - 54*
10. Kathryn Morgan - 51
11. Katie Daley / Sherwood - 50

* - Still playing internationally.

Don't worry, we hate spam as much as you do. We will only send you the latest updates and anything we think you will enjoy reading about.

Hit enter to send your tweet

JD Welsh Cup Round 3 Feature: Penrhyncoch FC
Go to Youtube Channel
Real Madrid's Gareth Bale Proud to Play for Wales