Prestigious Show Reveals Nominees of Esports Awards 2020

esports award
Reading Time: 3 Min
Image: Shutterstock
Renowned the Esports Awards are usually called the Oscar of esports. It declares the most deserving candidates when it comes to organizations, pro players, streamers, and industry leaders.

The exciting fifth esports award ceremony took place on July 23, 2020. In this prestigious esports event, the planners had also declared the second spotlight show of 2020.

The planners had announced the finalists for distinct categories. Along with that, the show authorities have revealed news related to two new awards that had happened for the first time. Moreover, it also offered details about the new venture which is known as For The Gamers Fund.

The 2020 Esports Awards categories, as well as nominees, have been revealed with industry veterans and incredible talent from the competitive sports world. It is appointed to be in the runnings for the event’s sixth edition.

Categories Announced On July 23

In addition to the award show, this major event has revealed the name of nominees for the following categories that are as follows:

  • Several community awards finalists that cover Esports Mobile Game of the Year, Esports Collegiate Award, Esports Personality of the Year, Streamer of the Year, and last but not the least Year and Esports Content Creator of the Year.
  • Details about two new award categories which will be the holder of first awards in 2020.
  • Information on “For The Gamers Fund”. It is expected to be the first initiative by the industry and built-in collaboration with Fuse.
  • A new structure for Lifetime Achievement Award.

Esports Awards Significance

From the past five years, the Esports Awards has been committed to highlighting the world-class innovation and performance. These have been selected among hardware providers, players, games, teams, events, and media.

The esports industry has significantly grown from the prominent sector of niche entertainment to this huge level. So, the esports awards is a great platform to appreciate the ones, who have performed a remarkable job to further enhance the sector. From all the outstanding players to the workers including all of the action, the event had been an epoch-making occasion for esports.

The Contenders For Biggest Award Categories

Have a look at the names of nominees that are selected for Esports Awards’ biggest categories.

1. The personality of the Year– Goldenboy, Falle, Ocelote, Nadeshot, Dr Lupo, Sjokz, Faker and HECZ

2. Streamer of the Year– Swagg, CourageJD, Mortal, Dr Lupo, Ibai, Summit1G, Gaules, xQc, TimTheTatman, Pokimane, Asmongold and Mortal

3. Esports Collegiate Award– Nuel, Tyrelle Appleton, Kevin Hoang, University of California, Irvine, Nace, Full Sail University, Tespa, and College Carball

4. Esports Content Creator of the Year– Nadeshot, UpUpDownDown, Nadeshot, Ashley Kang, HECZ, Musty and Esports Talk

5. Esports Mobile Game of the Year– COD Mobile, Clash of Clans, Free Fire, Mobile Legends, PUBG Mobile, Clash Royale, Arena of Valor and Brawl Star

Process of Esports Awards Nomination

The Esports Awards 2020 is all divided into five stages, from initial nomination to grand finale event where the awards are distributed. The final contestant for every five categories is declared in individual spotlight shows which have already started in July.

The first stage is for nominations, then it proceeds by the announcement of finalists, public votes, panel votes, and last being the distribution of final esports awards. The award distribution event is broadcasted live on a specific date.

The panel is the most crucial part of the esports awards. They are formed by selecting the best industry experts. About 75% of the vote is accounted by them for every award, while rest is accounted for by the audience.

In this year, there are eleven panel experts including Nicolas Estrup and Matt Ruttledge.

Relevant news